top of page

Look Up...

If you're on a train from Point A to Point B somewhere in the world, I implore you to look up from your phone, book, etc., and just look at what is passing you by. In a split second, you could miss something that will just take your breath away. On every train or bus I hop on, I'm totally mesmerized by the rolling pastures with countless animals [my new favorite animal has to be the Oreo cow... google it please because it's great:)]! The little villages I pass might seem small and quiet, but more than likely have a deep history that is much older than the U.S. It's those views that played a part in me falling in love with Scotland the first time I visited almost 6 years ago. So regardless of where you're travelling to or from, try not to miss out on something that'll pass you by. You might just fall in love with that place and find yourself taking opportunities you might not have taken otherwise, such as an internship...


On the way to Cairn Brae (IT'S THE OREO COW!!)


Which brings us up to date. My internship is going very well. The only thing that is becoming difficult is limiting myself to trying to come up with new ideas and telling myself that "I can do it." This project is unlike anything I've done before. My idea so far with trying to see how Robert Owen fits into the contemporary world involves looking at his reforms that he implemented and how his legacy has lived through the communities and places he had a personal hand in creating or that of which he influenced. The reforms will be linked to the towns in which they were implemented in and the hope is that the display will show where we are at with such reform movements. Nothing is set in stone quite yet, and the exhibit can easily change since its two years away from being featured, but so far I am liking my idea and have enjoyed trying to find ways it can improve.


Being in New Lanark has been great to have a direct line to some of the industrial reforms that Owen did, but there were other places where he had a direct effect in as well that will have to be contacted soon about available materials and resources that can be provided for this exhibiton task. I've been in contact Marlene, a Robert Owen interpreter from New Harmony, which will help immensely in researching more of what he did and envisioned for society. For now, the research and idea-making process continues. Onwards!

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page