top of page

One Fun, Busy, Eventful, Exhausting Weekend in Inverness



This weekend was probably the most exhausting thus far in my travels, but also a very fun and memorable one. I went to Inverness to visit my aunt who was coming in from a cruise of the British Isles and seeing some of the historic sites the city has to offer. Once I met with my Aunt Erica and her partner, Matt, we decided to check out Piping Inverness European Pipe Band Championship happening at a park in Inverness on Saturday. Since Erica and Matt only had less than an hour in the city, we decided to not pay the £13 for the entrance ticket, and made the economical decision to have a picnic outside the fence of the event. While the pipe bands practiced their sets, we cheered for them in the normal, loud, unnecessary American way:) We also stopped by the Highland House of Fraser (The Scottish Kiltmaker Visitor Centre) and Leakey's bookshop before they left on the bus back to their cruise. It was very great to connect with someone who I rarely see and learn more about how they're doing in life! <3



Inverness - Bught Park, Piping Inverness


Not knowing what to do with myself, I did as much of the free stuff that the city could offer. Walking through the Victorian Market and seeing the Inverness Museum and Art Gallery were two very recommendable places to see and I can now vouch for that.


Inverness - Victorian Market

As much as I don't like spending money... the Inverness Castleviewpoint is worth it in my opinion! You got to see such a great view of the city and learn a bit more of the history and legends that have shaped it over the years.


Inverness - Inverness Castleviewpoint

Later that night, not knowing what to do with myself, so I ended up going to the movies to watch Yesterday (I honestly can't remember the last time I saw a movie...). One of the ladies there also gave me recommendations on places to visit while in Inverness and recommended the Eden Court Under Canvas events they were hosting in the summer, which features a pop-up bar that was right next to the cinema and live music. That night, the musicians featured included a local family Ceilidh band. (for those who do not know, a Scottish Ceilidh is kind of like a Hoedown Throwdown, without Hannah Montana, country music, and is soooooo much fun)! I befriended some fellow Americans from California and ended up hanging out with them, the Ceilidh band members, and other Invernessians that night and just had a blast!! I'm blown away by how lovely the people are here!





Since this is a lot already... I will include my other adventure to the Isle of Skye in a different blog post! Like I said, it was "One Fun, Busy, Eventful, Exhausting Weekend in Inverness" :)


TO BE CONTINUED...





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page