top of page

Jet Lag Recovery

Updated: Jul 4, 2019

I arrived in the UK around 8 am on Tuesday and didn't get to Lanark til 5p (very very exhausted by the way).


View from my window at the Wee Row Hostel

My first day at the heritage site was quite exciting! I was graciously allowed more time to sleep in after my travels and caught up on rest that was well needed. I found my way to the offices and was given a brief overview of my workspace before going on a tour of the site. Because my group was small enough, our guide took us to see a behind the scenes of how wool is first processed before being spun into yarn. The New Lanark Textiles are sold in huge quantities to renown buyers such as the Warner Bros. (for the Weasley sweater that Mrs. Weasley makes for Ron :O) and big name designers. The machines used to make these materials are the same type that was used back in the 1800s, and continues to make a high quality commodity today.


Talking/typing about what I've seen so far will not do any of it justice. So as much as I would love to go into detail, I'll leave you all to the imagination until you come and see it for yourselves.:) I learned a lot about Robert Owen and what he accomplished here in New Lanark in just a short hour tour. As an Indiana resident, I was able to give what minimal information I knew about what Owen did in New Harmony, Indiana. It already felt like I was contributing to something that lay in the grander scheme. Definitely felt that I was helping show the bridge that exists between New Lanark and New Harmony. I only hope to set a stronger foundation of this bridge during my time here!



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page