top of page

Interning -> Planning -> Travelling -> Repeating

It was great to get to work on other things that wasn't purely research this week. Although I am enjoying researching and helping the thought-process flow for the "Robert Owen at 250" exhibition, it's nice to have had some small tasks to help break the repetitious cycle that could lead to potential boredom or loss of motivation. That has happened to me before and the last thing I would want is to lose motivation for the short time I'm here. I was able to help with projects that help represent New Lanark as a living and breathing community. The back in time day photo session that was featured before was one really great example of the projects that help brings the surrounding community together to experience a more active history that helps with keeping the audience engaged and actively learning in a fun way what life was like "Back in the Day" in the 1930s.


Paige also had me help with organizing some forms for a really fun summer event series coming up called the Makers Market. This event will take place every couple of weeks throughout the summer and will feature some local business owners and their wares in the exhibition space here in New Lanark. It reminds me of the Farmers Market Weekends or the Franklin St. Bazaar back home in Evansville/Newburgh, IN. Although I have trips planned for most of my weekends, I hope to go to one market where I can see more of the current community today. It's a great balance of working and living in the area where I can learn the history while also experiencing life today. I helped organize some forms for the vendors who have purchased tickets for the event, as well as help move some items to help free up the exhibition space. Now I know, I'm an intern not a moving person, but I'm telling you that getting a chance to move after sitting for a few hours in a chair staring a books/ a computer screen was a great reminder to know that my legs still worked! Exercising in some small way is helpful for me to be up and alert, and I'd advise the same to others.


New Lanark Rooftop Garden


My actual project that I'm working on is going fine. I feel a bit at a standstill with my research though. The flow of ideas I was having before has haltered a bit, but I think it has to do with the fact that there was little breaks in between with helping with some of the other events, plus to be honest, a bit of homesickness as well. I very much miss my friends and family back home, but I know they're only a message or call away. I did speak with Aynsley, the Learning and Outreach Manager at the New Lanark Trust, and it helped to get the creative juices flowing again! I spoke with her on ideas on how to make the exhibition more interactive for children. It's not a children-focused exhibit, but it would be nice to include to make it a family-friendly space, plus relevant to Robert Owen's reforms on education.


This weekend I will be travelling back to Crieff to help with Cairn Brae Young Life camp, which will be a great rejuvenating weekend of more fellowship, friends, and fun! Looking forward to seeing all my new friends again!


Cheers everyone!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page