top of page

HAPPY LANIMERS DAY!!

Updated: Jun 19, 2019

I came to Scotland at the right time! Thursday was a day of tradition and celebration in Lanark. It is part of a week full of festivities tat everyone in the town participates in. It brings friends and family who live elsewhere to come back to their home to join in the festivities. The entire event revolves around an old tradition that dates back to 1140 A.D. It originated as a time to check the March Stones of the town's boundaries. Now it has been modernized as a town tradition to host a progression of events throughout the week that brings the community together. Paige invited me to her house to have a prime viewing of the Lanimers Queens State Procession, involving many "Lorries" (floats) with many school children and other organizations in the town dressed up and marching through the streets in the most creative themes.



It was an eventful day of food, friends, and lots of fun! Luck was on my side to bring me at such a time to experience such an event that only takes place one day out of the year. I experienced both the traditions of Lanark, as well as seeing the current culture of the people today. Their hospitality to someone such as myself, whose family and friends are an ocean away, has been one of the greatest comforts in my short time here. It's a quality I hope to adopt and implement more in my life.



Highlight of the evening has to be going to the pub and introducing everyone to the "Banana Game" :P! For those who are reading this and now know the frustration, thank you all for putting up with that annoying riddle and making it a fun night!




8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page