top of page

Becoming a Local

Updated: Jul 4, 2019

While the last week involved learning mainly the history of New Lanark and Lanark, the past weekend was exploration in the town today. How did I best do this you might ask...? You’re right, shopping is the correct answer! Nothing like retail therapy to relieve stress and make the best impulse buys (don’t worry mom, I kept the receipts).

My journey began at the New Lanark Mill Shop, where a few ladies from Edinburgh came in and displayed easier methods of knitting the yarn using machines that can knit rows in minutes. It was very interesting to see how Scotland, U.S., England, and Romania were all represented with myself and those ladies all connecting over a universal hobby!



The rest of my day involved going in and out of little local shops, asking locals for directions and resisting (as much as I could) to buy too much. The little conversations I had with people, the advice they’d give, and familiarizing was a great way to spend my first weekend in Scotland. I did a lot of walking on a couple of different trails to and fro New Lanark which were scenic and breathtaking. It makes life without a car a bit more easy to bear. Got a bit lost on one of the trails getting to Corra Linn, but the sight was definitely worth getting lost for.


The nights at the hostel can get a little lonely, but keeping busy with organizing, researching, and looking for travel destinations are methods to keep me occupied.

Got a little late start on Sunday, but eventually got up and got started with my day. I was lost (again), but found my way to a cute little cafe to sit, relax, get my coffee therapy session in, and write this blog post. Looking forward to this new week of learning, researching, and exploring!


12 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page