top of page

Farewell, New Lanark

It's hard to imagine how long I've been here, yet how much the time has flown by. I remember walking into it not knowing what to do or how I could do this, but with a lot of help from my support system back home and my new-found support system in Scotland, I managed to finish strong. It was a bit overwhelming looking at all the work I had to do by the end of the week, but not finishing it was not an option. As I've mentioned before, I'm basically like Alice from Alice in Wonderland, we both have a tendency to fall down rabbit holes.


There is still more research that can be done, but that's not my job to do. I twas hard to let that go, but its just the truth that I have to let my control of it go in order for the next person to continue and give their ideas to the project. I want to see this project to its end, but the reality is the next time I probably see it will be when it is finished and being show-cased.


What I did for the duration of the week included compiling all my findings into a condensed, yet informative and clear, Word document. After avoiding the rabbit holes of research once and for all, the 5 weeks worth of research really showed. The final draft added up to a little less than 50 pages worth of information. It features my exhibition idea, stages of the (tentative) exhibition layout, quotes I found useful to possibly include, and a little analysis of Owen's A New View of Society. The end also included miscellaneous thoughts and ideas for the exhibition along with a bibliography of resources I used, as well as ones that could be useful for the next person. After starting various designs for the exhibition layout to help with the visualisation of the exhibit, I finished a design that could be used as a starting point for how to set up this project.


When I found out that I go to help in creating an exhibition, I underestimated how much work there was in the beginning with all of the research that had to be conducted. It definitely was the grunt work that has to be done before an exhibition can ever come to life, and its not necessarily everyone's favourite task to perform. For someone such as myself, I feel a lot more productive when I move around and do more work physically then mentally. Some of those days where I did nothing but read definitely went by a bit slower than others. Also, I will be honest when I admit that my confidence in my work is low, especially when I see that more can be done and I don't see my abilities to complete it.


For awhile, I questioned if what Iw as working on and doing would be helpful in the future with this project. It was a big fear of mine to not be someone who contributed enough to the effort, even after 5 weeks of interning. It took Helen and Paige to talk sense into me that the work I spent time worrying and questioning was something to be proud of. It's more fund when a person can build an exhibition, but it takes a lot of work and dedication to begin the most important aspect and stage of a project, which was what I spent my time doing at New Lanark.


Not everything went exactly as I expected it to go, but if it had, then I don't think I would've learned or grown as much as I did. Even if things change during the next couple of years, I at least left fully aware that I could be proud and content with what I accomplished with my time at New Lanark. Special thanks goes out to the staff, interns, and volunteers at the site who taught me, helped me, and encouraged me throughout the whole process. The staff even through a goodbye celebration for me on my last day, making it even harder to say goodbye. At least I leave having learned a thing or two (a lot more actually), having new friends, made fond memories, and walking away with the feeling of accomplishment. New Lanark will forever hold a special place in my heart.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page